Nominations for 2017 are now closed.

Technology Advancement Medal

The SAME Technology Advancement Medal was first awarded in 1991.

Eligibility: SAME member for at least three years prior to nomination and has led the advancement of engineering or related technology in support of the DOD mission.

Nomination Criteria: This medal is given only to an individual, but the individual can be a leader of a team who can also be recognized with certificates of achievement.

Award Recognizes:
   •  Advancement of technology to benefit DOD users;
   •  Application of technology to projects resulting in improved quality, endurance and/or cost savings;
   •  Communication skills in getting user adoption of technology.    

Nomination Process:

Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at SAME National on or before 12 noon of  February 1, 2016.

Past Technology Advancement Medal Recipients
    2016 Kevin Kaufman
    2015 Cdr. Nicholas DeLaura, CFM, SMP, USCG (Ret.)
    2013 Dr. Mohammad Khan, Ph.D., P.E.
    2012 Steve Baxley
    2011 Charles Marsh, Ph.D.
    2010 Alan Canfield, P.E.
    2009 Ilker Adiguzel, Ph.D.
    2008 Craig Rutland, Ph.D, P.E.
    2007 No Recipient
    2006 Kenneth J. Labry
    2005 James D. Cargile, Ph.D., P.E.
    2004 Vincent F. Hock
    2003 No recipient
    2002 Phillip C. McMillan
    2001 Edmund L. Dewailly
    2000 Reed L. Mosher, Ph.D.
    1999 Niki C. Deliman, Ph.D.
    1998 Maj. Jeffrey A. Vinger
    1997 Michael J. Bagstad
    1996 Thomas G. Tobin
    1995 Jeffrey W. Talley
    1994 Wade L Jumonville
    1993 Daniel A. Marsalone
    1992 William P. Wells, Jr.
    1991 Capt. John R. Floden
    1990 Gerald S. Satterlee, Jr.