Bliss Medal


The SAME Bliss Medal is awarded to a SAME member in recognition of superior efforts in mentoring students in engineering and related disciplines. The medal is named in honor of Gen. Tasker H. Bliss, USA, and was first awarded in 1958.

Eligibility: Full time educator of architecture, engineering or construction in a college, university or military engineer school who has been a member of SAME at least one year prior to nomination.

Nomination Criteria: Excellence in educating, mentoring and motiving students in the classroom and through the SAME Student Chapter.  Nomination must list courses taught and methods by which nominee interfaces with students and the Student Chapter.

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at SAME HQ. Nominations for the 2015 Award recipients will open January 2016.

Click here to review nominations instructions

Past Bliss Medal Recipients

  • 2014 Capt. Stephen Klenke, P.E., USAF
  • 2013 Capt. Monica Pickenpaugh, PE, LEED AP, USAF
  • 2012 Lt. Col. Kenneth McDonald, P.E., USA
  • 2011 Capt. Adam Strecker, P.E., USAF
  • 2010 Christopher Brown, Ph.D., P.E.
  • 2009 Kevin Z. Truman, Ph.D.
  • 2008 Capt. Andrew Hoisington, P.E., USAF
  • 2007 Lt. Col.Mark N. Goltz
  • 2006 Maj. Hugh E. Cronin, USA
  • 2005 Capt. Richard W. Martin Jr., USAF
  • 2004 Col. Gregory E. Seely, Ph.D., P.E., USAF
  • 2003 Lt. Col. Brian L. Baker, P.E., USA
  • 2002 Lt. David J. Palazzetti, USA
  • 2001 Col. Stephen J. Ressler, USA
  • 2000 Dr. Clifford J. Schexnayder, P.E.
  • 1999 Dr. Rita A. Gregory, P.E.
  • 1998 Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • 1997 Dr. Ronald W. Humble
  • 1996 Dr. Sarah E. Mouring
  • 1995 Dr. Freddie L. Frazier
  • 1994 Lt. Col. Robert Kwiatkowski
  • 1993 Lt. Alan M. Lytle
  • 1992 Col. David 0. Swint
  • 1991 Brig. Gen. Gerald E. Galloway Jr.
  • 1990 Dr. David Kauffman
  • 1989 Prof. Jose Femenia
  • 1988 Prof. Robert A. Gardner
  • 1987 Charles H. Coder
  • 1986 Virginia Polytechnic University
  • 1985 Dr. Wilbur L. Meier, Jr.
  • 1984 Dr. J. David Irwin
  • 1983 Dr. Arthur Akers
  • 1982 Col. James D. Strong
  • 1981 William R. Kimel
  • 1980 Dr. John D. Haltiwanger
  • 1979 Dr. John Knapp
  • 1978 Dr. Robert Cook Edwards
  • 1977 Dr. Adrian R. Chamberlain
  • 1976 Dr. B. R. Teare
  • 1975 Dean Arthur A. Burr
  • 1974 Dr. Howard W. Smith
  • 1973 Prof. Fred J. Benson
  • 1972 Dr. Lionel V. Baldwin
  • 1971 Dean Fred N. Peebles
  • 1970 Dean Lauress L. Wise
  • 1969 Dr. Charles Hadley Weaver
  • 1968 Dr. Truman H. Kuhn
  • 1967 Dr. William Walsh Hagerty
  • 1966 Dean William Allan
  • 1965 Dr. Fay L. Partlo
  • 1964 Dr. Morrough P. O'Brien
  • 1963 Maj. Gen. Ernest W. Harmon
  • 1962 Dr. Edwin D. Harrison
  • 1961 Dr. Curtis Laws Wilson
  • 1960 Rear Adm. Lewis B. Combs
  • 1959 Dean Kurt R Wendt
  • 1958 Dr. Eric A. Walker

Honorable Mention

  • 2009 Capt. Marion Russell, FE, LEED AP USAF
Go to the top of the page