Student Leadership Medal

Student_Leadership_MedalThe SAME Student Leadership Medal is presented to the Student Member who has made the most outstanding contribution at a college or university in the current academic year to SAME objectives. The first Student Leadership Medal was presented in 2004.

The SAME Education and Mentoring Fundwill reimburse the medal winner for registration, lodging and transportation costs (not to exceed $1,000) for their attendance at the SAME national conference.

Eligibility: Any SAME Student Member, who is a registered student at an academic instituion at the time of nomination.

Nomination Criteria: The following criteria will be used in judging nominations for excellence in the current academic year:

  1. Leadership in a SAME Student Chapter or SAME student mentoring program;
  2. Leadership in organizing and conducting professional development;
  3. Activities under the auspices of The Society of American Military Engineers;
  4. Leadership in community service.

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Faculty Advisors or Society Members of a local Post associated with a college or university.

The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination must verify that the individual meets the award eligibility criteria, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package is received at SAME HQ, with endorsement, on or before February 12, 2014.

Click here to review nominations instructions

Most Recent Recipients
  • 2012 Cadet Matthew Koestner, Texas A&M University
  • 2011 Jacqueline “Jackie” Jo Parks
  • 2010 Cadet Zachary Ellis
  • 2009 Eric Pratsch University of Virginia
  • 2008 Cadet 1st Class Thomas Synovec, USAF, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • 2007 Cadet First Class Benjamin Knott, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • 2006 Midshipman First Class Talbot R. Hansum, USNR, NROTC, Vanderbilt University
  • 2005 Cadet William G. Rock, Virginia Polyechnic Institute and State University
  • 2004 Sarah J. Nieves, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • 2003 John A. Cardenas, George Mason University
Go to the top of the page