Technology Advancement Medal

Technology_Advancement_MedalThe SAME Technology Advancement Medal was first awarded in 1991.

Eligibility: SAME member for at least three years prior to nomination and has led the advancement of engineering or related technology in support of the DOD mission.

Nomination Criteria: This Medal is given only to an individual but the individual can be a leader of a team who can also be recognized with certificates of achievement. 

The award recognizes:
•    Advancement of technology to benefit DOD users;
•    Application of technology to projects resulting in improved quality, endurance and/or cost savings;
•    Communication skills in getting user adoption of technology.    

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at SAME HQ on or before 12 noon of Wednesday, January 21, 2015.

Click here to review nominations instructions

  • 2013 Dr. Mohammad Khan, Ph.D., P.E.
  • 2012 Steve Baxley
  • 2011 Charles Marsh, Ph.D.
  • 2010 Alan Canfield, P.E.
  • 2009 Ilker Adiguzel, Ph.D.
  • 2008 Craig Rutland, Ph.D, P.E.
  • 2007 No Recipient
  • 2006 Kenneth J. Labry
  • 2005 James D. Cargile, Ph.D., P.E.
  • 2004 Vincent F. Hock
  • 2003 No recipient
  • 2002 Phillip C. McMillan
  • 2001 Edmund L. Dewailly
  • 2000 Reed L. Mosher, Ph.D.
  • 1999 Niki C. Deliman, Ph.D.
  • 1998 Maj. Jeffrey A. Vinger
  • 1997 Michael J. Bagstad
  • 1996 Thomas G. Tobin
  • 1995 Jeffrey W. Talley
  • 1994 Wade L Jumonville
  • 1993 Daniel A. Marsalone
  • 1992 William P. Wells, Jr.
  • 1991 Capt. John R. Floden
  • 1990 Gerald S. Satterlee, Jr.

Honorable Mention:

  • 2013 Mr. John Watkins III, P.E., S.E
  • 2009: Mr. Dennis Peltz, P.E.



Go to the top of the page