Urbahn Medal

Urbahn_MedalThe SAME Urbahn Medal is named in honor of Max O. Urbahn, American Institute of Architects. The medal is awarded to an SAME member for distinguished performance in the field of architecture. The medal was first awarded in 1997.

Eligibility: A Registered Architect who has been a member of SAME for at least three years prior to nomination.  Nomination must include State in which registered and expiration date of registration.

Nomination Criteria: Eminent and notable contributions in the field of architecture with emphasis on accomplishments in the past five years.

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at SAME HQ. Nominations for the 2015 Award recipients will open January 2016.

Click here to review nominations instructions

  • 2014 Harley H. Hightower, FAIA
  • 2013 Capt. Charles Enos, AIA, LEED AP, USN (Ret.)
  • 2012 Phillip Tobey, FAIA, FACHA
  • 2011 Paula J. Loomis, AIA, LEED AP BD&C
  • 2010 Junjian "J.J." Tang, AIA, LEED AP
  • 2009 Christopher Ions, AIA, LEED AP
  • 2008 Richard Corner, AIA, CSI
  • 2007 Steve Bettis, AIA
  • 2006 Terry L. Deglandon, R.A.
  • 2005 Brig. Gen. Lawrence Enyart, FAIA, LEED AP, F.SAME, USAF
  • 2004 Leo A. Daly III
  • 2003 Barbara M. Price, AIA
  • 2002 David V. Thompson
  • 2001 Gary D. Anderson, Ph.D., AIA, AICP
  • 2000 Gary D. Lynn
  • 1999 John L. Van Buren
  • 1998 Terrel M. Emmons
  • 1997 M. Paul Brott
  • 1996 Harold L. Adams
Go to the top of the page