Young Member Medal


Established in 2004, the SAME Young Member Medal was first presented at the 2005 Joint Engineer Education and Training Conference & Expo in Louisville, Ky.

Eligibility: Any member of The Society who has been a member for the past five years and is age 39 years or younger in the year for which nominated.

Nomination Criteria: Outstanding leadership and accomplishments in support of the Society Mission over one's entire period of membership in the Society.

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at SAME HQ on or before 12 noon of Wednesday, January 21, 2015.

Click here to review nominations instructions

Past Young Member Medal Recipients

  • 2013 Capt Robert Hufford II, USAF
  • 2012 Maj. Ryan Walinski, USAF
  • 2011 Maj. Elizabeth M. Harwood, USAF
  • 2010 Capt. Matthew R. Altman, USAF
  • 2010 Ann Ewy, PMP
  • 2009 Aimee Alix, LEED AP
  • 2008 Capt. Michelle M. Gill, USAF
  • 2007 Maj. Patrick G. Miller, P.E., USAF
  • 2006 Matthew L. Metcalf, P.E.
  • 2005 Capt. Paul R. Sutto, P.E., USAFR
  • 2004 LT Eileen J. D'Andrea, USN

Honorable Mention

  • 2009 Capt. Nadja Turek, P.E., LEED AP, USAFR
Go to the top of the page