The SAME National Readiness Committee encourages all SAME members to obtain certification, which is formal recognition that an individual has demonstrated proficiency within and a comprehension of a specified body of knowledge at a point in time. It is peer recognition and not registration or licensure.

Certification Sponsoring Organization Contact Information
Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) Assessor Training National Emergency Management Association (NEMA) http://www.emaponline.org/index.cfm
Certified Emergency Manager (CEM) International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) http://www.iaem.com/index.shtml
Certified Energy Manager The Association Of Energy Engineers http://www.aeecenter.org/certification/CEMpage.htm
Certified Hazardous Materials Manager (CHMM) Institute of Hazards Materials Management (IHMM) http://www.ihmm.org/
Certified Infrastructure Preparedness Specialist (CIPS) Office of Infrastructure Preparedness www.oip-usa.us
Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM) Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) http://www.floods.org/home/default.asp
Certified Facilities Manager (CFM) International Facilities Management Association (IFMA) http://www.ifma.org/
Certified Protection Professional (CPP) American Society for Industrial Security (ASIS) http://www.asisonline.org/certification/index.xml
Multiple Certifications which are available including “Certified Fire Protection Specialist” NICET (National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies) http://www.nicet.org/
Certified Health Physicist American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) http://www.hps1.org/aahp/
Certified Industrial Hygienist Council on Certification of Health, Environmental and Safety Technologists http://www.abih.org/
Certified Safety Manager
Certified Safety Professional
Board of Certified Safety Professionals http://www.bcsp.com/
Safety Trained Supervisor in Construction (STS) certification Council of Certification on Health, Environmental and Safety Technologists (CCHEST) http://www.cchest.org/index.php?option=content&task=section&id=5&Itemid=91
Go to the top of the page