J.W. Morris Sustaining Member Award (Large Company)

The J.W. Morris Sustaining Member Award is named in honor of Lt. Gen. John W. Morris, USA (Ret.). The award was first presented to an SAME Sustaining Member company (large company) in 1981.

Eligibility: In order to be eligible for the award, an SAME Sustaining Member company in the private sector must be a Sustaining Member of at least two or more SAME Posts in each of the previous five years.  Large companies that have received this award in the past 5 years are not eligible to submit.

Nomination Criteria: The company will be evaluated based on the extent to which during the previous calendar year:

  1. The company appoints individuals to sustaining member representative positions for each Post affiliation.
  2. Company representatives take on leadership positions at the Post, Region and National level, including Board of Direction, standing committees and conference planning committees.
  3. Company supports Young Member participation in Society activities and mentoring programs.
  4. Company supports K-12, College Outreach and community service activities.
  5. The number of Posts supporting the nomination with validation of the company's participation during the past year (in the form of attached letters of support).
  6. The company advertises in SAME publications (The Military Engineer, Real TiME or the Directory of Member Companies & Organizations).
  7. The company exhibited and sponsored activities/events at SAME National and Region Conferences.

Nomination and Submission Process:

  1. A company must nominate itself for the award. Written referrals from Posts are welcome as part of the nomination package. 
  2. No nominations will be processed without a complete nomination package. 

Completed Nomination Packages Include:

  • nomination summary detailing how the nominee meets each of the stated criteria
  • 250 word citation
  • supporting endorsement letters (if required)
  • company logo in .jpg or .tif format, at a resolution of 300 dpi, burned to disc or included on flash drive
J.W. Morris Sustaining Member Award Past Recipients

    2017 -  Jacobs
    2016 - CDM Smith
    2015 - Jacobs
    2014 - [Not Awarded]
    2013 - CH2M Hill
    2012 - Atkins
    2011 - Weston Solutions
    2010 - Parsons
    2009 - HDR
    2008 - URS Corp.
    2007 - Jacobs Carter Burgess
    2006 - AMEC
    2005 - MWH Americas Inc.
    2004 - Michael Baker Corporation †
    2003 - Large Business(es) - Stanley Consultants Inc. and Weston Solutions Inc.
    2003 - Small Business - Environmental Chemical Corporation
    2002 - Large Business - Arcadis
    2002 - Small Business - ABMB Engineers Inc.
    2001 - Large Business -Foster Wheeler Environmental Corp.
    2001 - Small Business - Engineering Consulting Services Ltd.
    2000 - Huitt-Zollars Inc.
    1999 - Arcadis Geraght & Miller Inc.
    1998 - Sverdrup Corp.
    1997 - Daniel, Mann, Johnson & Mendenhall
    1996 - Rust International inc.
    1995 - CH2M Hill
    1994 - STV Group
    1993 - Dames & Moore
    1992 - Sverdrup Corp.
    1991 - The Schemmer Assoc., Inc.
    1990 - Global Associates
    1989 - USKH Inc.
    1988 - Parsons Brinckerhoff Inc.
    1987 - 3M
    1986 - Henningson, Durham & Richardson
    1985 - Black & Veatch
    1984 - Holmes and Narver
    1983 - The American Dredging Co.
    1982 - Walk, Haydel & Assoc. Inc.
    1981 - Dalton, Dalton, Newport

* 2001 was the first year in which SAME gave J.W. Morris Sustaining Member of the Year Awards to both small and large businesses.
† In 2004, the Small Business Award was separated and renamed for former SAME president Lt. Gen. Robert B. Flowers, USA (Ret.) .