Young Member Medal

Established in 2004, the SAME Young Member Medal was first presented at the 2005 Joint Engineer Education and Training Conference & Expo in Louisville, Ky. In 2010, it was authorized that two awards can be presented in a given year: one to a civilian Young Member; one to a uniformed service Young Member.

Eligibility: Any member of The Society who has been a member for the past five years and is age 39 years or younger in the year for which nominated.

Nomination Criteria: Outstanding leadership and accomplishments in support of the Society Mission over one's entire period of membership in the Society.

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at SAME HQ. 

Past Young Member Medal Recipients
Maj. Aaron Zorn, P.E., PMP, CEM, USAF
Candis M. Hamilton, MBA
2015 Amy Shirlberg, PMP, LEED AP
Angela Nocera, P.E.
Capt. Robert Hufford II, USAF
Wendy Parker

Maj. Ryan Walinski, USAF
David Pratt, P.E., CEM, LEED AP
Maj. Elizabeth M. Harwood, USAF
Denise A. Tegtmeyer, P.E.

Capt. Matthew R. Altman, USAF
Ann Ewy, PMP

Aimee Alix, LEED AP
Capt. Michelle M. Gill, USAF
Maj. Patrick G. Miller, P.E., USAF
Matthew L. Metcalf, P.E.
Capt. Paul R. Sutto, P.E., USAFR
Lt. Eileen J. D'Andrea, USN