Academy of Fellows
Awards & Recognition
Committees & Councils
Engineering & Construction Camps
Terence A. Douglas, CIH, CSP, President of Alliant Corporation, an SAME Sustaining Member, was awarded the 2016 Tennessee Small Business Person of the Year Award by the U.S. Small Business Administration...
Read More..

Golden Eagle Awards

Since 1996, the SAME Academy of Fellows has honored two outstanding Americans: a SAME Fellow for outstanding contributions to the engineering profession; and a prominent leader for significant contributions to national security.

In 2015, SAME expanded the award for Fellows to include outstanding contributions to the architecture, construction and engineering (A/E/C) professions. In doing so, Ms. Suzanne DiGeronimo became the first architect--and first female--to be honored with a Golden Eagle Award.

The Golden Eagle Award is presented annually at the Golden Eagle Awards Dinner, which takes place in the D.C. metropolitan area each spring. The award, like SAME itself, has a rich heritage.

History of the Golden Eagle Award

In 1782 the bald eagle was chosen as the emblem of our new nation because of its long life, great strength and majestic looks, as well as the belief that the bald eagle could be found only on the North American continent.

One legend says that another reason the bald eagle was chosen as the U.S. national emblem was that, during an early morning battle of the American Revolution, the noise of the struggle awoke sleeping eagles on the heights, who flew from their nests and circled above the heads of the fighting men. As they flew above, they bellowed raucous cries, causing the patriots to exclaim, "They are shrieking for freedom!"

President John F. Kennedy once wrote of this majestic bird, "The Founding Fathers made an appropriate choice when they selected the eagle as the emblem of the nation. The fierce beauty and proud independence of this great bird aptly symbolize the strength and freedom of America."

For these reasons and more, the SAME Academy of Fellows named its annual honor after this majestic symbol of American dedication and spirit to a greater good. The award was sculpted as a crystal eagle in flight above a solid wooden base, further symbolizing the strength and character of the individuals being honored.

Past Golden Eagle Award Winners

SAME Fellows Honored for Contributions to the Engineering Profession

  • 2017 Harold I. Rosen, F.SAME
  • 2016 Lt. Gen. Robert Van Antwerp, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2015 Suzanne DiGeronimo, FAIA, PP
  • 2014 The Honorable James A. Rispoli, P.E., BCEE, F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2013 Col. James L. Lammie, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2012 Brig. Gen. Ralph V. Locurcio, P.E., F. SAME, U.S. Army (Ret.)
  • 2011 Rear Adm. Benjamin F. Montoya, USN (Ret.)
  • 2010 William A. Brown Sr., P.E., HAIA, F.SAME
  • 2009 Rear Adm Jack Buffington, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2008 Maj. Gen. Joseph A. "Bud" Ahearn, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
  • 2007 Col. F.H.“Bud” Griffis, Ph.D., P.E.,NAC, USA (Ret.)
  • 2006 maj. Gen. Charles E. Williams, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2005 Rear Adm. David J. Nash, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2004 Brig. Gen Gerald E. Galloway Jr., Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2003 Lt. Gen. Henry J. Hatch, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2003 Charles H. Thorton, Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME
  • 2002 Brig. Gen. Forrest T. Gay III, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2001 Frank H. Walk, D.E., P.E., F.SAME
  • 2000 Michael Haratunian, P.E., F.SAME
  • 1999 E. Manning Seltzer, F.SAME
  • 1998 Lt. Gen. John W. Morris, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 1997 Seymour S. Greenfield, P.E., F.SAME
  • 1996 Maj. Gen. Clifton D. Wright Jr., P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)

Prominent Leaders Honored for Contributions to National Security

  • 2017 Gen. J.H. Binford Peay III, USA (Ret.)
  • 2016 Adm. Vern E. Clark, USN (Ret.)
  • 2015 Gen. Gordon R. Sullivan, USA (Ret.)
  • 2014 Lt. Gen. Theodore G. Stroup Jr., P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2013 Lt. Gen. Daniel W. Christman, USA (Ret.)
  • 2012 Gen. David H. Petraeus, Ph.D., USA (Ret.)
  • 2011 Adm. Thad W. Allen, USCG (Ret.)
  • 2010 Honorable Eric K. Shinseki
  • 2009 Lieutenant General Julius W. Becton, USA (Ret.)
  • 2008 Richard H. Carmona, M.D., M.P.H., FACS
  • 2007 Gen. Barry R. McCaffrey, USA (Ret.)
  • 2006 Adm. James M. Loy, USCG (Ret.)
  • 2005 Gen. Andrew J. Goodpaster, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2004 Gen. Henry Hugh Shelton, USA (Ret.)
  • 2002 Stephen E. Ambrose
  • 2001 Honorable David Hobson
  • 2000 Gen. Ronald R. Fogleman, USAF
  • 1999 Senator Robert J. Dole
  • 1998 Honorable W.G. Hefner
  • 1997 Honorable Richard B. Cheney
  • 1996 Norman R. Augustine