Pittsburgh Home Banner  


It is the intent of the Kittyhawk Post to grant scholarships annually to encourage students in the Post’s region (Ohio, Indiana, and Kentucky) to pursue careers in fields related to the Society’s mission (engineering, architecture, construction, facilities management and environmental management/science).  The program is designed to cover all levels of post-high-school education to include associate, baccalaureate, and graduate degrees. The number and value of scholarships awarded may vary from year to year, but the goal is to award at least one scholarship in each of the categories outlined below. Two types of scholarships are awarded each year. Below we provide links to detailed descriptions and applications for each.

Deadline to Receive Applications and accompanying files is April 6, 2018.

Traditional Student Scholarships are provided for either students enrolled in, or high school seniors intending to pursue, a full-time accredited baccalaureate program.

Traditional Student Scholarship Description

Traditional Student Scholarship Application

Non-traditional Student Scholarships are intended to aid students with at least one year full-time work experience who are returning to school to pursue an advanced degree or to make a career change.

Non-Traditional Student Scholarship Description

Non-Traditional Student Scholarship Paper Application Form

You can submit your application in one of two ways (submitting both ways is not necessary):

  • Complete the application form in Word or pdf, and email it along with all supporting files to Nadja.turek@woolpert.com. Please include “SAME scholarship application” in the subject.
  • Send the application and all supporting files via mail to:

SAME Kittyhawk Post
Attn: Scholarship Committee
P.O. Box 328,
Fairborn, Ohio 45324

Please combine your application into one submittal, if feasible. However, if necessary, you may submit parts separately. For example, you can submit your application electronically, while someone acting as your reference can mail their reference letter to the PO Box address separately. Please clearly label all documents so we can combine split submittals. Only complete applications submitted by April 6, 2018 will be reviewed. For questions regarding scholarship eligibility or selection criteria and timeline, please contact our Education Committee chair, Ms. Nadja Turek, 937-531-1287.

Thanks and good luck!

2017 Scholarship Winners:

Congratulations to last year’s students, who were selected to receive scholarships supported by the Post and Post sustaining member firms. These merit-based scholarships were designed to aid students in our region studying fields related to SAME’s mission, or in the case of the Curtis Scholarships, designed to help non-traditional students who were returning to school to pursue an advanced degree or make a career change.

Last year’s winners:


Name Awarded School
Daniel Donnelly $1500 Carroll High School
Alex Buckley $1500 University of Cincinnati
Kennedy O’Malley-Dertien $1500 University of Florida
Ronald Knapp $1500 University of Dayton
Brett Wedding $1500 Ohio State University
Nathan Mueller $1500 Beavercreek High School
Collin Rambacher $1000 Miamisburg High School
Scott Beinlich $1000 Alter High School
Ryan DiMisa $1000 Centerville High School
Matthew Burton $1000 University of Cincinnati
Jenna Demeter $1000 Springfield High School


The Kittyhawk Post also donates $1000 each year to the Sinclair Foundation to support scholarships in Architecture and Engineering-related disciplines.