WELCOME TO
SEATTLE POST

seattle Home Image 1.  seattle Home Image 2.  seattle Home Image 3.  

Post President

Mark Ohlstrom
HDR
(425) 450-6275
mark.ohlstrom@hdrinc.com

Mark is the Federal Program Lead and is a Senior Project Manager and Quality Manager for challenging Water Resource related projects for HDR in Washington State. Mark has over 40 years of experience in the engineering profession. Prior to joining HDR in 2013, Mark served as the Chief Engineering Division for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Seattle District. Mark is passionate about leadership and developing people.  In his role as Chief, Engineering Division, Mark also was the District’s Career Program Manager for Engineers & Scientists and was the Corporate Champion and for the District’s Leadership Development Program. Mark continues to be active in mentoring and promoting the engineering profession. Mark is a second generation Seattle native and has three adult children and one grandson. In addition to enjoying time with family and friends, Mark is active as a volunteer in church and civic activities and enjoys sporting and outdoor activities.

Mark is excited and honored to serve as SAME’s 2019-2020 Seattle Post President as the Society and the Post move towards celebrating their Centennial in 2020.  Mark is looking forward to working with the Post’s outstanding Board of Directors and Committee Chairs in enhancing the value and benefits the Society provides our members.  Please contact Mark if you have ideas in that regard and/or interest in furthering your involvement with this dynamic organization.

Nominations are now open for Board Officers and Director Positions of the Seattle Post of SAME for the 2019-2020 term.

Term of office for officer positions on the Board of Direction is one year starting July 1st, 2020 and extending through June 31st, 2021.

There are two (2) Director Positions open with term extending for three years starting July 1st, 2020, through June 30th, 2023.

Positions on the Board of Direction for the 2020-2021 term which require nominations include the following:

  • PRESIDENT 2020-2021
  • 1st VICE PRESIDENT 2020-2021
  • 2nd VICE PRESIDENT 2020-2021
  • SECRETARY 2020-2021
  • ASSISTANT SECRETARY 2020-2021
  • TREASURER 2020-2021
  • ASSISTANT TREASURER 2020-2021
  • DIRECTOR 2020-2023
  • DIRECTOR 2020-2023 

In addition, the Post has a number of appointed positions and Committee Positions.

If you are interested in getting more involve in the Post now is the time raise your hand.

Nominations are due on or before March 15th, 2020.

Please email your nominations (including self-nominations) to Larry Toimil Nominations Committee Chair at Larryt@ehsintl.com.

If you currently hold an Officer, Director or Committee Chair position please indicate via email to Larryt@ehsintl.com your desire to:

a) Continue in your current position;

b) Move to an alternate Position/Committee Chair;

c) Do not seek to continue participation at the Board/Committee Chair level.

 

2019-2020 Board Members

President
Mark Ohlstrom
HDR
(425) 450-6275
mark.ohlstrom@hdrinc.com

1st Vice President
Caroline Roberts
Jacobs

2nd Vice President
Debbie Chinn
US Coast Guard, FD&CC Pacific
(206) 220-7384
debbie.m.chinn@uscg.mil
     

Immediate Past President
Julie Erickson
Stell Environmental
(484) 949-1809
jerickson@stellee.com

Secretary
Kathryn Bost

Rolluda Architects
(206) 334-5021
klbost@outlook.com

Assistant Secretary
Kathryn Sullivan
Wood Harbinger
(425) 628-6034
ksullivan@woodharbinger.com

Treasurer
Ryan Peterson
Shannon & Wilson, Inc.
(206) 695-6673
rbp@shanwil.com

Assistant Treasurer
Faith Batrack
HDR
(425) 450-6266
faith.batrack@hdrinc.com

 

2017/2020 Director
Bob Galteland
Reid Middleton

2017/2020 Director
Kristie Casarez
HDR Inc.
(253) 709-6876
Kristie.Casarez@HDRInc.com

Appointed Director 2019/2020
TBD
TBD
TBD
TBD

Appointed Director 2019/2020
TBD
TBD
TBD 
TBD

2018/2021 Director
CDR (Ret) Manny Bautista 
Blue Trident
(206) 972-0645
manny.bautista@blue-trident.com

2018/2021 Director
LT Bohdon Wowtschuk
US Coast Guard, FDCC DET Seattle
(206) 220-7434
Bohdon.M.Wowtschuk@uscg.mil

2019/2022 Director
LTC (Ret) Thomas Nichols
TN Federal Consulting, LLC
(425) 244-0803 
Thomas41106@hotmail.com

2019/2022 Director
CDR (Ret) Ralph Field
Jacobs
(360) 633-0435
ralph.field@jacobs.com

NW Regional VP
Dave Newkirk
BCE Engineers
(253) 606-1047
dave.newkirk@bceengineers.com

2019-2020 Committee Chairs

Projects of Excellence
CAPT (Ret) John Hickey
Jacobs
(206) 696-6680
john.hickey@jacobs.com

Community Outreach
Brian Blevins & Erik Van Buskirk
1 Alliance
(206) 696-6680
brian.blevins@1-alliance.com
erik.vanbuskirk@1-alliance.com

Membership
Scott Blount

Bering Straits 
(925) 457-8647
sblount@beringstraits.com

Fellows
SES (Ret) Marty Boivin

Shannon & Wilson 
(206) 695-6923
mjb@shanwil.com

Professional Development

Wendy LS Oresik

(206) 354-3697
wendy.ls.oresik@gmail.com


Veterans Programs
Allison MacEwan

Reviresco Environmental Group
(206) 459-3857
allison@teamreviresco.com

Strategic Planning
CDR (Ret) Terry McCann

EA Engineering, Science, and Technology
(206) 452-5342
tmccann@eaest.com

Young Members - Technobowl
Matty Haith

matty.haith@gmail.com
Phone

Field Trips
Evan Lakin

KPFF
(206) 926-0443
evan.lakin@kpff.com

STEM
Mary Ann Carlson

Terracon
(425) 736-8687
MaryAnn.Carlson@terracon.com

PSEC
Joe Souther

CDM Smith
(425) 519-8328
southerjt@cdmsmith.com

Event Support
Amanda Thornton DeWitt

EMR
(425) 861-4562 ext.18
athornton@emr-inc.com

Sustainability Symposium
Wendy LS Oresik

Company 
(206) 354-3697
wendy.ls.oresik@gmail.com

Scholarships

John Souza
KTA Associates
(425) 301-8920
jsouza@ktainc.net

Constitution/By-Laws
CAPT (Ret) John Callahan
LBM
(206) 789-6622
jkcallahan@gmail.com

Nominations
Larry Toimil

EHS-International, Inc.
(425) 455-2959
larryt@ehsintl.com

Emergency Preparedness
LTC (Ret) Andrew Park

Callahan Management
(206) 357-4318

andy.park@callahan-management.com

Matt Veenstra
Hart Crowser
Phone
matt.veenstra@hartcrowser.com

Programs
Nick Vlahovich

(425) 615-0533
nvalhovi@comcast.net

Communications
Melissa Grasso
ERRG
(425) 931-2662
melissa.grasso@errg.com                                   

Social Media
Caroline Roberts

Jacobs

           

Sustainers
Jim Shellooe

AMEC
(425) 985-6835
jim.shellooe@amec.com

Small Business

LCDR Sam Lee
Naval Base Kitsap
(253) 667-9869
sam.byu@gmail.com

Streamer Award Submittals
CDR (Ret) Terry McCann

EA Engineering, Science, and Technology
(206) 452-5342
tmccann@eaest.com

Golf Tournament
Mark Corcoran

Prosser, Inc.
(904) 739-3655
mcorcoran@prosserinc.com

2018 Regional Conference
CAPT (Ret) Rick Beseler

GSA
(206) 719-9007
richard.beseler@gsa.gov

Construction & Engineering Camp
CDR (Ret) Terry McCann
EA Engineering, Science, and Technology
(206) 452-5342
tmccann@eaest.com