Hampton Roads Post 
2021 – 2022 


Do you have an interest in serving in a leadership position for our Post?
We are a very active Chapter and want your help!  Our Mission is:

  • Enhance Industry-Government Engagement
  • Preparing Veterans for the  A/E/C Industry
  • Building Resilience throughout the Country
  • Developing Leaders and Professionals
  • Producing STEM Professionals for the Nation
The SAME  Hampton Roads Post is looking for hardworking volunteers who are interested in serving on and leading the following committees:

Deputy Programs*
Deputy Treasurer
Member Representative – USN
Member Representative – USACE
Member Representative – USCG
Member Representative – USAF
A/E Firm Representative
Engineering Firm Representative
Non-Commissioned Officer (NCO)
Construction Representative*
K-12 Outreach** 
Small Business Conference
Student Chapter Virginia Tech
Student Chapter ODU
Construction Camps*
Community Projects**
Young Members
*Committee Chair position is open 

**Active volunteers needed to join the committee 
Board meetings are the 2nd Wednesday of every month from 1000-1130 typically in conjunction with the Lunch Programs. If you would like more information about these committees and how we lead in our community, please contact Belinda Redd, PE, Post Secretary, at:

Also, please be on the watch for an email notification  for voting on our Post Board of Directors. Elections will occur later this Spring. 


Board of Directors

Role Name Company
President Ms. Louise Slate Tetra Tech
President Elect CAPT John Barresi USCG
Immediate Past President CAPT Jeff Lengkeek NAVFAC MIDLANT 
Vice President – Membership Mr. Brett Patterson MEB General Contractors
Vice President – Programs Ms. Anat Mor Burns & McDonnell
Vice President – Communications (i.e. Content Manager and Publicity) Ms. Kristen Smith Froehling & Robertson, Inc. 
Vice President – Scholarships Mr. Mitchell Hubbell Waller Todd & Sadler, a Woolpert Company
Secretary Ms. Deborah Cohen Tetra Tech
Treasurer Mr. Benjamin Reim Kimley-Horn and Associates
Deputy Program Chair/Event Coordinator Ms. Melissa Waefler RS&H
Deputy Communications Ms. Dainan Gibson ECS Mid-Atlantic, LLC
Deputy Treasurer Mr. Doug Richter Waller, Todd & Sadler, a Woolpert Company
Board Member - USN LT Luke Reynolds NAVFAC MIDLANT
Board Member - USACE Mr. Thomas Booth USACE Norfolk District
Board Member - USCG CAPT John Berry USCG
Board Member - USAF Mr. Tim Gattney  USAF
Board Member - Construction OPEN OPEN
Board Member - Small Business Ms. Stacey Higgins Draper Aden Associates
Board Member - Deputy Small Business Ms. Cindy Nash GET Solutions, Inc
Board Member – A/E Firm Ms. Tabitha Abnet Clark-Nexsen
Board Member – Engineering Firm Ms. Carrie Kane HDR
Board Member – Young Member Ms. Melissa Waefler RS&H
Board Member – Deputy Young Member Ms. Sydney Plackett Tetra Tech
Board Member – NCO OPEN OPEN
Board Member – K-12 Outreach Mr. Herman (Ward) Valentine Independent Consultant 
Board Member -- Deputy K-12 Outreach OPEN OPEN
Board Member – Resiliency Mr. John Crossen Integrated Enterprise Facilitators, LLC
Board Member - Fellow Mr. Don Young MBP
Student Chapter (VT) Mr. Kevin Wills MBP
Student Chapter(ODU) Mr. Scott Blossom Blossom Consulting
Construction Camps Mr. Steve Perrott RS&H
Streamers Mr. John Crossen Integrated Enterprise Facilitators, LLC
PMP/Accreditation Cmt Ms. Peggy Farrell Leidos
Community Project Mr. Steve Perrot RS&H
SAME Fellow Chair / National VP Mr. Neal Wright STV
Fellow / Elected Director Mr. Mike Darrow USACE Norfolk District
Deputy Regional VP Ms. Lee Ann Zelesnkar iSoft Solutions
Fellow Mr. George Bonner USCG
Fellow RADM Jim Heinz USCG
National VP/Fellow Mr. Mark Handley AECOM
Fellow Ms. Paula Loomis The Urban Collaborative
Fellow CAPT Eileen D'Andrea USN