Sverdrup Medal

Sverdrup Medal


The Sverdrup Medal is named in honor of Maj. Gen. Leif J. Sverdrup, USA. This medal was first awarded in 1980.


A Uniformed Young Professional of SAME, age 39 years or younger in the year for which nominated and who has been a member of SAME for at least three years prior to nomination.

Nomination Criteria

The following criteria will be used in judging nominations:

  • Outstanding contributions to engineering, design, construction, research & development, or planning for the past three years.
  • Demonstrated leadership in managing projects or organizations.
  • Participation in SAME. 
  • Receipt of awards or other recognition for professionalism, leadership.

Nomination Process

Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at the SAME National office.

Past Sverdrup Medal Recipients

2021 Capt. G. Blake Hege, P.E., USAF, Expeditionary Warfare School, MCB Quantico
2019 Capt. Nathan Jones, USAF, 5th Civil Engineer Squadron, Minot AFB
2018 Senior Master Sgt. Adam Boubede, USAF, 627th Civil Engineer Squadron, Joint Base Lewis-McChord
2017 Maj. Steven Schuldt, P.E., USAF, 8th Civil Engineer Squadron, Kunsan AB
2016 Lt. Col. Kevin Mares, P.E., USAF
2015 Capt. Katherine Schultz, USAF
2014 Lt. Marcus S. Cline, P.E., CEC, USN
2013 Lt. Jeremy Potts, P.E., CEC, USN
2012 Capt. Luke Donovan, USAF
2011 Captain Matthew R. Altman, USAF
2010 Capt. Josh R. Aldred, P.E., USAF
2009 Maj. Gregory Morissette, P.E., USAF
2008 Capt. Ryan Walinski, USAF
2007 Lisa M. Mabbutt, USAF
2006 Capt. Kristina J. Selstrom, USAF
2005 Maj. Jarrett G. Purdue, P.E., USAF
2004 Capt. Aaron W. Duggan, USAF
2003 Lt. Cmdr. Mark K. Edelson, CEC, USN
2002 Lt. Miguel Dieguez, USN
2001 Maj. Roy-Alan Agustin, USAF
2000 Lt. Cmdr. Pete J. Campbell, CEC, USN
1999 Maj. Scott T. Allen, USAF
1998 Maj. Lucian L. Niemeyer, USAF
1997 Capt. Joseph R. Marcinkevich, USAF
1996 Capt. David E DeMartino, USAF
1995 Lt. Darren C. Morton, USN
1994 Lt. William M. Sheedy
1993 Lt. Robert G. Fahey, USN
1992 Capt. John A. McElree, USA
1991 Lt. Cmdr. Vincent Racanelli
1990 Lt. John T. Bergstrom
1989 Lt. Cmdr. Darrell Y. Van Hutten, USN
1988 Lt. Cmdr. Timothy E Biggins, USN
1987 Capt. Michael J. Kaleda, USA
1986 Lt. Michael D. Kiehnau
1985 Maj. Michael H. Schmidt
1984 Maj. Patrick M. Coullahan, USAF
1983 Maj. Peter A. Topp, USA
1982 Lt. Cmdr. Charles D. Wurster, USCG
1981 Capt. M. Stephen Rhoades, USA
1980 Lt. Col. Eugene A. Lupia, USAF

Honorable Mention:
2013 Capt. Carissa Sabellico
2009 Maj. Ryan Novotny