Bliss Medal

Bliss Medal

The SAME Bliss Medal is awarded to a SAME member in recognition of superior efforts in mentoring students in engineering and related disciplines. The medal is named in honor of Gen. Tasker H. Bliss, USA, and was first awarded in 1958.


Full time educators or mentors of architecture, engineering or construction in a college, university or military engineer school who has been a member of SAME at least one year prior to nomination.

Nomination Criteria

Excellence in educating, mentoring, and motivating students through classroom instruction, presentations, seminars, competitions and/or Student Chapter activities. Nominee may be a faculty member, Student Chapter mentor or active sponsor/participant in STEM Education or Student Chapter activities.

Nomination Process

Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received by SAME National. 

Past Bliss Medal Recipients

2022 Terry Watkins, PMP, Jacobs, University of Texas at San Antonio Student Chapter
2021 Lt. Col. Patrick Suermann, Ph.D., P.E., LEED AP, F.ASCE, USAF (Ret.), Texas A&M University
2020 Mr. John Walewski
2019 Maj. Erick Martinez, P.E., USA, U.S. Military Academy at West Point
2018 Lt. Col. Benjamin Wallen, Ph.D., P.E., PMP, USA, U.S. Military Academy at West Point
2017 Col. Ronald Welch, Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), The Citadel
2016 Capt. Marlyse Williams, Ph.D., USAF
2015 Eric Williamson, Ph.D., P.E.
2015 Capt. Timothy Pach, USAF
2014 Capt. Stephen Klenke, P.E., USAF
2013 Capt. Monica Pickenpaugh, PE, LEED AP, USAF
2012 Lt. Col. Kenneth McDonald, P.E., USA
2011 Capt. Adam Strecker, P.E., USAF
2010 Christopher Brown, Ph.D., P.E.
2009 Kevin Z. Truman, Ph.D.
2008 Capt. Andrew Hoisington, P.E., USAF
2007 Lt. Col.Mark N. Goltz
2006 Maj. Hugh E. Cronin, USA
2005 Capt. Richard W. Martin Jr., USAF
2004 Col. Gregory E. Seely, Ph.D., P.E., USAF
2003 Lt. Col. Brian L. Baker, P.E., USA
2002 Lt. David J. Palazzetti, USA
2001 Col. Stephen J. Ressler, USA
2000 Dr. Clifford J. Schexnayder, P.E.
1999 Dr. Rita A. Gregory, P.E.
1998 Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, U.S. Air Force Academy
1997 Dr. Ronald W. Humble
1996 Dr. Sarah E. Mouring
1995 Dr. Freddie L. Frazier
1994 Lt. Col. Robert Kwiatkowski
1993 Lt. Alan M. Lytle
1992 Col. David 0. Swint
1991 Brig. Gen. Gerald E. Galloway Jr.
1990 Dr. David Kauffman
1989 Prof. Jose Femenia
1988 Prof. Robert A. Gardner
1987 Charles H. Coder
1986 Virginia Polytechnic University
1985 Dr. Wilbur L. Meier, Jr.
1984 Dr. J. David Irwin
1983 Dr. Arthur Akers
1982 Col. James D. Strong
1981 William R. Kimel
1980 Dr. John D. Haltiwanger
1979 Dr. John Knapp
1978 Dr. Robert Cook Edwards
1977 Dr. Adrian R. Chamberlain
1976 Dr. B. R. Teare
1975 Dean Arthur A. Burr
1974 Dr. Howard W. Smith
1973 Prof. Fred J. Benson
1972 Dr. Lionel V. Baldwin
1971 Dean Fred N. Peebles
1970 Dean Lauress L. Wise
1969 Dr. Charles Hadley Weaver
1968 Dr. Truman H. Kuhn
1967 Dr. William Walsh Hagerty
1966 Dean William Allan
1965 Dr. Fay L. Partlo
1964 Dr. Morrough P. O’Brien
1963 Maj. Gen. Ernest W. Harmon
1962 Dr. Edwin D. Harrison
1961 Dr. Curtis Laws Wilson
1960 Rear Adm. Lewis B. Combs
1959 Dean Kurt R Wendt
1958 Dr. Eric A. Walker

Honorable Mention
2009 Capt. Marion Russell, FE, LEED AP USAF