Urbahn Medal

The SAME Urbahn Medal is named in honor of Max O. Urbahn, American Institute of Architects. The medal is awarded to an SAME member for distinguished performance in the field of architecture. The medal was first awarded in 1997.

Eligibility: A Registered Architect who has been a member of SAME for at least three years prior to nomination.  Nomination must include State in which registered and expiration date of registration.

Nomination Criteria: Eminent and notable contributions in the field of architecture with emphasis on accomplishments in the past five years.

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or National Board of Direction member who is endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at the SAME national office. 

Narrative Template for Urbahn Medal

Narrative Template for Urbahn Medal

Past Urbahn Medal Recipients

2020 LTC Hugh Darville, RA, USA

2019 Capt. Daniel Cook, RA, NCARB, CEC, F.SAME, USN, NAVFAC Southwest

2018 David Packard, RA, PMP, F.SAME, USACE Northwestern Division

2017 James Pocock, Ph.D., RA, LEED AP, U.S. Air Force Academy

2016 Edmond Gauvreau, FAIA

2015 Capt. Robert Harris, FAIA, LEED AP, CFM, USN (Ret.)

2014 Harley H. Hightower, FAIA

2013 Capt. Charles Enos, AIA, LEED AP, USN (Ret.)

2012 Phillip Tobey, FAIA, FACHA

2011 Paula J. Loomis, AIA, LEED AP BD&C

2010 Junjian "J.J." Tang, AIA, LEED AP

2009 Christopher Ions, AIA, LEED AP

2008 Richard Corner, AIA, CSI

2007 Steve Bettis, AIA

2006 Terry L. Deglandon, R.A.

2005 Brig. Gen. Lawrence Enyart, FAIA, LEED AP, F.SAME, USAF

2004 Leo A. Daly III

2003 Barbara M. Price, AIA

2002 David V. Thompson

2001 Gary D. Anderson, Ph.D., AIA, AICP

2000 Gary D. Lynn

1999 John L. Van Buren

1998 Terrel M. Emmons

1997 M. Paul Brott

1996 Harold L. Adams