Walter O. Bachus Gold Medal

The SAME Gold Medal was first awarded in 1920. The medal is given to an SAME Member who demonstrates outstanding leadership skills in support of the SAME mission. In the spring of 2005, the Board of Direction changed the name of the Society's Gold Medal in honor of Brig. Gen. Walter O. Bachus, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), who served as SAME Executive Director from 1978 to 1993, and was a two-time recipient of the SAME Gold Medal.

Eligibility: A member of SAME for at least 20 years. Individuals can only be awarded this medal once. 

The newly renamed Walter O. Bachus Gold Medal was presented for the first time at the 2006 Joint Engineering Education and Training Conference & Expo in New Orleans.

Nomination Criteria: Outstanding leadership and accomplishments in support of the SAME mission over the awardee's entire period of membership in the SAME.

Nomination Process: Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received by SAME National.


Past Walter O. Bachus Gold Medal Recipients
  • 2020 Col. Joe Manous Jr., P.E., PhD, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2019 Col. John Mogge Jr., Ph.D., RA, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Jacobs
  • 2018Col. Peter Mueller, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), Architect of the Capitol
  • 2017 Col. Ronald Torgerson, P.E., PMP, CHPP, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
    James Hagan, F.SAME* award being presented posthumously
  • 2016 Capt. Bill Bersson, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2015 Robert Wolff, Ph.D., P.E., F.SAME
  • 2014 Ron Hilton, P.E., F.SAME
  • 2013 Anthony F. Leketa, P.E., F.SAME, SES (Ret.)
  • 2012 Col. Homer L. Guy, P.E., AIA, DBIA, LEED AP, CFM, PMP, CEM, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
  • 2011 Capt. Julian Sabbatini, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.)
  • 2010 Patrick J. Keough, P.E., F.SAME
  • 2009 Col. Ronald B. Brown, CPC, DBIA, F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2008 Mary Anderson, F.SAME
  • 2007 Lt. Col. Merrill W. Watt II, P.E., USA (Ret.)
  • 2006 Capt. James H. Donahue, P.E., F.SAME, USCG (Ret.)
  • 2005 Roger J. Wozny, P.E., F.SAME
  • 2004 Brig. Gen. Ralph V. Locurcio, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • 2003 Lt. Col. Wendell L. Barnes, P.E., P.E., USA (Ret.)
  • 2002 Rose Dela Vega
  • 2001 Maj. Gen. Clifton D. (Duke) Wright, USAF (Ret.)
  • 2000 Col. Edward C. Gibson, USA (Ret.)
  • 1999 Vice Adm. A. Bruce Beran, USCG (Ret.)
  • 1998 Michael Haratunian
  • 1997 Lt. Col. Kenneth J. Haveman, USA (Ret.)
  • 1996 Thomas B. Delaney, Jr.
  • 1995 Brig. Gen. Gerald C. Brown, USA (Ret.)
  • 1994 Robert Sylar
  • 1994 Suzanne K. DiGeronimo, FAIA
  • 1993 Brig. Gen. Forrest T. Gay, III, USA (Ret.)
  • 1992 Brig. Gen. Walter 0. Bachus, USA (Ret.)**
  • 1991 Col. James K. Scott
  • 1990 Col. Phillip Stowell, USAF
  • 1989 Maj. Gen. George E. Ellis, USAF
  • 1988 Col. Marshall N. Sauls
  • 1987 Brig. Gen. Richard M. Connell, USA (Ret.)
  • 1986 Brig. Gen. W. Thomas Meredith, USAF (Ret.)
  • 1985 Col. Donald E. Hazen, USA
  • 1984 Maj. Gen. Scott B. Smith, USA
  • 1983 Col. T. Roger Peterson, USA (Ret.)
  • 1982 Maj. Gen. Carroll N. Le Tellier, USA (Ret.)
  • 1981 Maj. Gen. William D. Gilbert, USAF (Ret.)
  • 1980 Rear Adm. Walter M. Enger
  • 1980 Maj. Gen. Henry C. Schrader, USA (Ret.)
  • 1979 Rear Adm. Anthony A. Braccia**
  • 1979 Col. Joseph Markle, USAR (Ret.)**
  • 1978 Leonard A. Cavanaugh
  • 1977 Brig. Gen. William C. Hall, USA (Ret.)
  • 1976 John W. Ward, Jr.
  • 1975 Col. Francis J. Walter, Jr.
  • 1974 Brig. Gen. Walter 0. Bachus, USA
  • 1973 Hanford Thayer
  • 1973 Mary Katharine Lutz
  • 1972 Robert D. Dabney
  • 1971 Rear Adm. Anthony A. Braccia
  • 1970 Col. Robert T. Greigg
  • 1969 Col. Robert F. Schirmer
  • 1968 Col. Joseph Markle, USAR (Ret.)
  • 1967 Maj. Gen. Robert H. Curtin, USAF
  • 1966 Col. Paul C. Brown
  • 1965 Vice Adm. H. Arnold Karo
  • 1964 Col. F. H. Kohloss
  • 1963 Vice Adm. W. Orme Hiltabidle
  • 1962 Maj. Gen. Augustus M. Minton
  • 1961 Maj. Gen. Charles G. Holle
  • 1960 Maj. Gen. George J. Nold
  • 1959 Col. E. Goring Bliss
  • 1958 Maj. Lex E. O'Brient*
  • 1958 Rear Adm. Leo Otis Colbert
  • 1957 Brig. Gen. John W. N. Schultz
  • 1956 Col. Harold E. Bisbort
  • 1955 Eugene A. McGovern
  • 1954 Jacob C. Pugh
  • 1953 Howard Henry Demmert
  • 1952 Daniel A. Sullivan
  • 1951 Maj. Gen. Carl R.Gray Jr.
  • 1950 Brig.Gen. Dwight E Johns
  • 1949 Maj.Gen. David McCoach
  • 1948 Col. J. Franklin Bell
  • 1947 Albert A. Stanley
  • 1946 Capt. C. Ken Weidner
  • 1945 Col. J. M. Wright
  • 1944 Burton J. Bell
  • 1943 Col. Edwin C. Kelton
  • 1942 Col. John H. Carruth
  • 1941 W. King Provan
  • 1940 Hobart D. Fox
  • 1939 Col. S. C. Godfrey
  • 1938 Maj. Victor V. Martin
  • 1937 Capt. Greer A. Duncan
  • 1936 Horace A. Thompson
  • 1935 Maj. A. C. Harper
  • 1934 Maj. Gen. M. M. Patrick
  • 1933 Maj. J. H. Wheat
  • 1932 Lt. Lewis A. Armistead
  • 1931 Col. E. M. Stayton
  • 1930 Col. J. N. Hodges
  • 1929 Maj. L. R. Lohr
  • 1928 Col. E. G. Jonah
  • 1927 Col. R.C. Moore

SAME's highest award was not authorized until 1926, and in that year seven recipients were retroactively selected for the award, each to represent one of the years 1920 to 1926:

Percy E. Barbour
Col. C.H. Birdseye
Col. Harrison Brand
Col. P.S. Bond
D. W. Dodge
Charles H. Smith
Col. G.A. Youngberg

Since 1927, the medal has been presented to a recipient every year. Only three members have been awarded the medal a second time, Rear Adm. Braccia and Col. Markle in 1979, and Brig. Gen. Bachus in 1992. Only five times (1958, 1973, 1979, 1980, and 1994) has there been more than one person selected for the annual award in the same year.

**Gold Eagle clasp authorized in 1979 for presentation to second Gold Medal winners.