Student Leadership Medal

Student Leadership Medal


The SAME Student Leadership Medal is presented to a Student Member who has made the most outstanding contribution at a college or university in the current academic year to SAME objectives. The first Student Leadership Medal was presented in 2004.

SAME will provide a stipend support to the medal winner for registration, lodging, and transportation costs for their attendance to JETC, the SAME national conference.


A Student Chapter officer who has been a member of SAME for at least one year prior to nomination.

Nomination Criteria

  • Leadership in a SAME Student Chapter;
  • Leadership in organizing and conducting programs and chapter events;
  • Leadership in community service.
  • Participation in sponsoring post events. 

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made by the Post Mentor and endorsed by the Post President.

The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination must verify that the individual meets the award eligibility criteria, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package is received at the SAME National office, with endorsement.

Past Student Leadership Medal

2022 Cadet Alyssa Austin, U.S. Military Academy
2021 Cadet Edward Jennings, Georgia Institute of Technology
2020 Joseph Kessler
2019 Cadet Adrian Barraza, U.S. Military Academy at West Point
2018 Lindsay Barnum, University of Nebraska at Lincoln
2017 Kevin Maddox, Texas A&M University
2016 Rebecca Hamlin,University of South Alabama
2015 Staff Sgt. Nickolas Patch, USMCR, Kansas State University / Cadet Lucas Guthrie, U.S. Air Force Academy
2014 Cadet First Class Peter Amaddio, U.S. Air Force Academy
2013 Cadet First Class Eric Timpe, U.S. Air Force Academy
2012 Cadet Matthew Koestner, Texas A&M University
2011 Jacqueline “Jackie” Jo Parks
2010 Cadet Zachary Ellis
2009 Eric Pratsch University of Virginia
2008 Cadet First Class Thomas Synovec, USAF, U.S. Air Force Academy
2007 Cadet First Class Benjamin Knott, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2006 Midshipman First Class Talbot R. Hansum, USNR, NROTC, Vanderbilt University
2005 Cadet William G. Rock, Virginia Polyechnic Institute and State University
2004 Sarah J. Nieves, University of Nebraska at Omaha
2003 John A. Cardenas, George Mason University