Young Professional Medal

Young Professional Medal

Established in 2004, the SAME Young Professional Medal (then called the Young Member Medal) was first presented at the 2005 Joint Engineer Education and Training Conference & Expo in Louisville, Ky. In 2010, it was authorized that two awards can be presented in a given year: one to a civilian Young Professional; one to a uniformed service Young Professional.


Any professional of The Society who has been a member for the past five years and is age 39 years or younger in the year for which nominated.

Nomination Criteria

Outstanding leadership and accomplishments in support of the Society Mission over one’s entire period of membership in the Society.

Nomination Process

Nominations for this award must be made by a Society member and endorsed by a Post President or member of the National Board of Direction, using the Society nomination form. The Post President or member of the National Board of Direction endorsing the nomination will verify that the individual meets the eligibility criteria for the award, and that the nomination package provides information to support each of the nomination criteria and all required information on the nominee. The nominator is responsible for ensuring the package, with endorsement, is received at the SAME National office.

Past Young Professional Medal Recipients
  • 2021
    Agapito “Pete” Diaz, P.E., F.SAME
  • 2020
    Tiffany Castricone, RA
  • 2019
    Allison Cantu, P.E., F.SAME, NAVFAC Southwest
  • 2018
    Elizabeth Parent, P.E., 5engineering LLC
  • 2017
    (Civilian) – Matthew Turner, AIA, PMP, NCIDQ, LEED AP, Yaeger Architecture Inc.
    (Military) – Lt. Timothy Dahms, P.E., CEC, USN, NAVFAC Marianas
  • 2016
    Maj. Aaron Zorn, P.E., PMP, CEM, USAF | Candis M. Hamilton, MBA
  • 2015
    Amy Shirlberg, PMP, LEED AP
  • 2014
    Angela Nocera, P.E.
  • 2013
    Capt. Robert Hufford II, USAF | Wendy Parker
  • 2012
    Maj. Ryan Walinski, USAF
    David Pratt, P.E., CEM, LEED AP
  • 2011
    Maj. Elizabeth M. Harwood, USAF
    Denise A. Tegtmeyer, P.E.
  • 2010
    Capt. Matthew R. Altman, USAF | Ann Ewy, PMP
  • 2009
    Aimee Alix, LEED AP
  • 2008
    Capt. Michelle M. Gill, USAF
  • 2007
    Maj. Patrick G. Miller, P.E., USAF
  • 2006
    Matthew L. Metcalf, P.E.
  • 2005
    Capt. Paul R. Sutto, P.E., USAFR
  • 2004
    Lt. Eileen J. D’Andrea, USN