National Leadership

The SAME Board of Direction, at its meeting on May 25, 2012, approved a new governance structure for the Society. This change instituted an entirely volunteer Board of Direction, led by five national officers elected by the membership: President, President-Elect, Past President and two Vice Presidents. The remainder of the voting Board of Direction includes 12 Elected Directors (who serve four-year terms), 17 Regional Vice Presidents (who have oversight of all Posts in their geographic region), and Chairs of the Mission Committees & Councils (who lead the strategic direction of discipline or demographic-focused national groups).

In addition to the voting members, the Board of Direction includes several non-voting members: appointed Treasurer and Counsel, the SAME Executive Director, and up to three at-large directors (who may be in charge of task forces or partnerships, for instance).

Previous to the governance change in 2012, the SAME President primarily was a position that was held on a rotating basis by an Engineering Chief of one of the uniformed services. To ensure that the new governance structure involves input from the Engineering Service Chiefs, a Uniformed Services Advisory Group (USAG) was established to provide advice to SAME on how the organization can support the professional development of uniformed engineers and the needs of the uniformed service engineering departments for the betterment of our country. The USAG meets twice annually with the SAME National Officers.

2018-2019 Board of Direction

 National Officers:

  • President: Col.Marvin Fisher, LEED AP, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Farnsworth Group
  • President-Elect: Lt. Col. Wendell "Buddy" Barnes, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), ARCADIS
  • Vice President: Cindy Lincicome, F.SAME, Betance Enterprises
  • Vice President: Heather Wishart-Smith, P.E., F.SAME, Jacobs
  • Immediate Past President: Col. Sal Nodjomian, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Matrix Design
  • Executive Director: Brig. Gen. Joe Schroedel, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), (Non-voting)
  • Treasurer: Rich Khalil, CPA, A. Morton Thomas and Associates, (Non-voting)
  • Counsel: Harold Rosen, Esq., F.SAME, The Law Office of Harold Rosen (Non-voting)
  • President, SAME Foundation: Col. John Mogge, Ph.D., RA, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), CH2M (Non-voting)

Regional Vice Presidents:

  • California: Anthony Petroccitto, GHD Inc.
  • Carolinas: Janette Tudor, P.E., F.SAME, KCI Technologies Inc.
  • Europe:  Col. Anthony "Tony" Higdon, P.E., USAF, USAFE-AFAFRICA/A4C
  • Great Lakes: Tricia Muxlow, Muxlow Surveying
  • Lower Mississippi: Kenneth New, QRI/Quaternary Resource Investigations LLC
  • Middle Atlantic: CAPT Jay Manik, P.E., USCG (Ret), F.SAME, CDM Smith
  • Missouri River: Jackie Hacker, HDR
  • New England: John Blaisdell, Sovereign Consulting, Inc.
  • North Atlantic: Sharon Krock, F.SAME, Schnabel Engineering
  • Northwest:  Dave Newkirk, BCE Engineers Inc.
  • Ohio Valley: Col. Shawn Moore, F.SAME, USAF
  • Pacific: Lt. Col. Eric Warner, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), 374th Civil Engineer Sq.
  • Rocky Mountain: Col. R. Scott Jarvis, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), RS&H
  • South Atlantic: Cindy Miller, Jacobs
  • South Central: Col. Robert Keyser, P.E., F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), AH Environmental Consultants
  • Southwest: Col. Richard Houghton, CFM, USAF (Ret.), City Light and Power
  • TEXOMA: Brig. Gen. Patrice Melancon, F.SAME, USAFR, San Antonio River Authority & USAF

Committee Chairs:

  • Architectural Practice: David Packard, RA, F.SAME, USACE
  • Awards and Recognition: Michell ChamblissFaith Group LLC
  • College Outreach: Maj. Seth Lorimer, USAF
  • Credentialing: Chief Master Sgt. Tamara Olson, USAF (Ret.), S&B Christ Consulting LLC
  • Energy & Sustainability: Brig. Gen. Dave Howe, USAF (Ret.), Powersmiths International Corporation
  • Engineering & Construction Camps: Cdr. Joseph Angell II, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.), Apogee Consulting Group, P.A. 
  • Enlisted: SMSgt Adam Boubede, USAF, Joint Base Lewis-McChord
  • Environmental: Rick Cox, BMT Designers & Planners
  • Facilities Asset Management: Mark Tomassoni, KBRwyle
  • International: Col. Blair Schantz, USA (Ret.), Prime Associates LLC
  • Joint Engineer Contingency Operations: Col. Bill Haight, USA (Ret.), Louis Berger Group
  • Resilience: Col. Joe Manous Jr., D.WRE, PhD, P.E., F.SAME, USACE
  • STEM: Lt. Col. Scott Prosuch, F.SAME, USA, (Ret.), Tetra Tech

Council Chairs:

  • Small Business: Karen Buniak, TTI Environmental, Inc.
  • Young Member: Lisa Thoele, RS&H

Elected & Appointed Directors:

2016 –2019

  • Cdr. Joseph Angell II, P.E., CCM, DGIA, USN (Ret.), Taylor Wiseman & Taylor
  • Lt. Col. Kevin Lovell, PMP, USA (Ret.)
  • Ben Matthews, P.E., F.SAME, Atkins
  • Col. John Cawthorne, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Neumarket Consulting LLC


  • CAPT.Robert "Bob" Bevins, P.E., F.SAME, USCG, USCG
  • John Accardi Jr., F.SAME, Weston Solutions
  • Anita Larson, PG, PMP, F.SAME, Suulutaaq, Inc.
  • Yvonne Simon, AIA, RA, U.S. Navy, CNRJ MWR
  • Maj. Gen. Merdith "Bo" Temple, P.E., PMP, F.SAME, USA (Ret.) (Appointed/Non-Voting)

2018 –2021

  • Candis Hamilton
  • Ramon Herrera, P.E., F.SAME, Midtown Engineers, LLC
  • Col. Charles Perham, USAF (Ret.), Matrix Design Group
  • Marci Snyder, F.SAME, Dynatest
  • J.J. Tang, RA, F.SAME, HDR
  • Richard "Rad" Delaney, LEED AP, RA, F.SAME, PRIME AE Group, Inc. (Appointed - non-voting)
  • Capt. Mike Blount, P.E., F.SAME, USN (Ret.), AECOM (Appointed - non-voting)
  • Lt. Col. Mike Darrow, P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.), USACE (Appointed - non-voting)
  • Caroline Roberts, Jacobs (Appointed - non-voting)



Uniform Service Points of Contact (POCs):

  • Army Liaison: Capt. Zebulun Coulter, PMP, USA
  • Navy Liaison: Cdr. Chad Lorenzana, CEC, USN
  • Air Force Liaison: Capt. Ronda Underwood, USAF
  • Coast Guard Liaison:  Lt. Beth Runco, USCG
  • Public Health Service Liaison: Lt. Cdr. James Coburn, USPHS
  • Marine Corps Liaison: Maj. Chris Scannell, USMCR, City of Columbus


  • President - 2018-2019
    Col. Marvin Fisher,
    LEED AP, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.)
    Farnsworth Group, Inc.
  • President-Elect
    Lt. Col. Wendell "Buddy" Barnes,
    P.E., F.SAME, USA (Ret.)
  • Immediate Past President
    Col. Sal M. Nodjomian, P.E.,
    F.SAME, USAF (Ret.),
    Matrix Design Group

In accordance with the SAME bylaws, national officers are elected prior to each year's Joint Engineer Training Conference & Expo. Nominations for elected office are made to the Executive Director by Jan. 15 and elections are held throughout the month of March.

  • Vice President
    Cindy Lincicome, F.SAME
    Betance Enterprises, Inc.
  • Vice President
    Heather Wishart-Smith,
  • Executive Director
    Brig. Gen. Joe Schroedel, P.E.,
    F.SAME, USA (Ret.)