New 2024 SAME Board of Direction Members Elected

Congratulations to the newly elected members of SAME’s Board of Direction!

SAME’s Board of Direction national election completed on April 15, 2024. On the ballot for this year were candidates for President-Elect, Vice President, and Elected Director. All members of the Society were eligible to cast a vote.

The elected candidates will take their oath and join the other members of the Board of Direction at the 2024 JETC in Orlando, Fla. The Society’s national governing body include Regional Vice Presidents, Chairs of the Communities of Interest, other national officers (Vice President, Past President, President) and Elected Directors, as well as Appointed Directors. The President-Elect automatically ascends to SAME President the following year. Elected Directors serve in a three-year term. There are a total of 12 on the Board of Direction.

Learn more about SAME’s Board of Direction and national leadership.

The 2024-2025 Board of Direction will be led by Sharon Krock, SPWS, F.SAME, Schnabel Engineering, who will assume the presidency in May, from Col. Charlie Perham, F.SAME, USAF (Ret.), Matrix Design Group.

2024 Elected Board Members


Michael Huffstetler, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP, F.SAME, DLR Group

Vice President

Brig. Gen. Patrice Melancon, P.E., LEED AP, F.SAME, USAFR (Ret.), CWG Consulting

Albert Romano, CFM, F.SAME, Industry Consultant

Elected Director

Maj. Gen. Anthony Funkhouser, P.E., USA (Ret.), AECOM

Cdr. Roland DeGuzman, P.E., CEM, F.SAME, USN (Ret.), MBP

Candice Scale, HDR Inc. (Young Professional) 

Corey Weaver, P.E., F.SAME, USACE Huntington District (Young Professional)