2024 Election for the SAME Board of Direction: March 1 to April 15

Voting for SAME’s Board of Direction: March 1–April 15

The 2024 SAME Board of Direction national election will run from March 1–April 15. This year’s ballot includes candidates for President-Elect, Vice President, and Elected Director.

For 2024, there are eight Elected Director candidates vying for four spots. Vote for any four candidates (at least one Young Professional will be elected; if more than one are both among the highest four vote-getters they each will be elected). And while Vice President and President-Elect candidates are running unopposed, voting for these individuals is an integral part of SAME’s governance, and affirms the membership’s confidence in the Society’s leadership.

To learn more about each candidate, their leadership history and read their statement of commitment, visit the official election webpage.

Voting for SAME’s national leadership is an integral part of the Society governance. Help ensure a strong future by voting for your next leaders today. After you cast your ballot, make sure to download your “I Voted” sticker to show off your Society pride!


(vote for one)

Michael Huffstetler, Assoc. AIA, LEED AP, F.SAME, DLR Group

Vice President

(vote for two)

Brig. Gen. Patrice Melancon, P.E., LEED AP, F.SAME, USAFR (Ret.), CWG Consulting

Albert Romano, CFM, F.SAME, Industry Consultant

Elected Director

(vote for four)

Michelle Exaros, CSP, Fulcrum Energy Solutions Inc.

Maj. Gen. Anthony Funkhouser, P.E., USA (Ret.), AECOM

Cdr. Roland DeGuzman,P.E., CEM, F.SAME, USN (Ret.), MBP

Heather Polinsky, PMP, F.SAME, Arcadis 

Candice Scale, CHA Consulting (Young Professional) 

Corey Weaver, P.E., F.SAME, USACE Huntington District (Young Professional) 

Melvin Williams, F.SAME, FACEC, Terracon Consultants Inc.

Lee Ann Zelesnikar, iSoft Solutions

Want to learn more about SAME’s history, including a list of all those who have served as Society President over the last century? Discover more at www.same.org/society-history.